Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Plagiarism

Even though its in your own creator, hopefully you guys have licenses to prevent ownerships via companies : ] Just wanted to ask...

Comments

• I don't fully understand what you mean, could you elaborate?
  • I'm guessing he means potential legal troubles arising from people recreating popular copyrighted characters using Yiffalicious 2.

Now, I'm no expert in the matter, but if memory serves, all fanart is technically in violation of current copyright laws, so there is some cause for concern here. However, I don't think anyone's ever tried to sue the tools used to make said fanart so it would be something of an unprecedented incident. However, given how bloody greedy companies have grown in this day and age, who's to say they wouldn't try something unprecedented?
  • I don't know about that. People seem to make fan art, comics, animations etc. of famous characters with wild abandon all the time, I've even seen sfm models of many such characters made for peoples own animations. But recreating others OCs and fursonas without their permission however, that where the drama really starts, knowing this fandom.
  • I'm no expert on copyright law, but while it would be stupid to sue the tools used to recreate copyrighted characters, having a cloud like the one planned for YL2 that "publishes" those characters might be a different story. I sure hope that no problems arise because of that though.
  • @kroch @SteelCrow13 @Brownmane H0rs3 got some major issues with game freak a bit ago, even if its fan art its still a partial crime.
  • @MegaGarchompXY
    Sounds juicy, got any sources on that story?